Saturday, August 13, 2011



Under the Dawes Commission the Fives Tribes were adjudicated Tribal allotment disbursement under Federal Treaty Agreements.

Cherokee Nation:

The Cherokee Nation (Tsalagihi Ayeli) is the largest of three Cherokee federally recognized tribes in the United States.

It was established in the 20th century, and includes people descended from members of the old Cherokee Nation who relocated voluntarily from the Southeast to Indian Territory and Cherokees who were forced to relocate on the Trail of Tears. The tribe also includes Cherokee Freedmen and descendants of the Natchez Nation. Over 288,749 people are enrolled in the Cherokee Nation, with 181,867 living within the state of Oklahoma.[1] According to Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) head Larry EchoHawk, the Cherokee Nation is not the historical Cherokee tribe but instead a "successor in interest."[2]

Headquartered in Tahlequah, Oklahoma, the Cherokee Nation has a tribal jurisdictional area spanning 14 counties in the northeastern corner of Oklahoma. These are Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Delaware, Mayes, McIntosh, Muskogee, Nowata, Ottawa, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington Counties.[1]

The tribe has a democratically elected government, led by a Principal Chief, Deputy Chief, and Tribal Council. Cherokee Nation has two tribal courts, the District Court and the Judicial Appeals Tribunal (JAT). The Cherokee Nation Marshall Service polices the tribe. A wide range of tribal businesses are operated by Cherokee Nation Entertainment (CNE) and Cherokee Nation Businesses (CNB), based in Catoosa, Oklahoma [3][4] and Cherokee Nation Industries (CNI), based in Stilwell, Oklahoma.[5] The tribal newspaper is the Cherokee Phoenix. The Cherokee Nation operates Sequoyah High School and W. W. Hastings Hospital, both based in Tahlequah.

Chickasaw Nation:

The Chickasaw Nation is a federally recognized Native American nation, located in Oklahoma. They are one of the members of the Five Civilized Tribes. The Five Civilized Tribes were differentiated from other Indian reservations in that they had semi-autonomous constitutional governments and delegates in the U.S. House of Representatives. The Chickasaw Nation was created after the Chickasaws were removed to Indian Territory in the 1830s.

The Chickasaws were first combined with the Choctaw Nation and their area in the western area of the nation was called the Chickasaw District. It consisted of Panola, Wichita, Caddo, and Perry counties. Although originally the western boundary of the Choctaw Nation extended to the 100th meridian, virtually no Chickasaws lived west of the Cross Timbers due to continual raiding by the Indians on the Southern Plains. The United States eventually leased the area between the 100th and 98th meridians for the use of the Plains tribes. The area was referred to as the "Leased District".

Choctaw Nation:

Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Total population 215,947[1] Regions with significant populations United States ( Oklahoma)Languages English, Choctaw Religion Protestantism, traditional beliefs Related ethnic groups other Choctaw tribes,

The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma (commonly referred to as the Choctaw Nation) is a semi-autonomous Native American homeland comprising twelve tribal districts. The Choctaw Nation maintains a special relationship with both the United States and Oklahoma governments. Approximately 250,000 people live within the Choctaw Nation, of which 70,000 are enrolled

The Chief of the Choctaw Nation is Gregory Eli Pyle. The Choctaw Nation Headquarters is located in Durant, Oklahoma, though the Choctaw Capitol Building is in Tuskahoma, Oklahoma; it is now the Choctaw Museum and home to the Judicial Department Court System.

The Choctaw Nation also known as Mississippi and Oklahoma Choctaws. Choctaws, under 1830 Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek were Federally removed from Mississippi Indian territories to what would be historically called Indian territory. Between 1831 and 1838, under said Treaty amendments within the Dawes Commission were organized as the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma. The removals continued until the early 20th century.[2] The removals became known as the "Trail of Tears."

Seminole Nation:

Seminole Nation The Seminole Nation of Oklahoma is a federally recognized Seminole tribe. Its members are descendants of the majority of the Seminole in Florida in the 1830s, who were removed to Oklahoma. Seminoles remaining in Florida fought against US forces in two periods of war (the Second and Third Seminole wars) and peace was made without their defeat. Today, descendants of those people have formed two federally recognized Seminole tribes in Florida, as well as the federally recognized Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida which separated in the 1960s from one of the Seminole organizations. Other traditional Seminole communities remain unrecognized.

Creek Nation:

The Muscogee (or Muskogee), also known as the Creek or Creeks, are a Native American people traditionally from the southeastern United States.[3] Mvskoke is their name in traditional spelling. Modern Muscogees live primarily in Oklahoma, Alabama, Georgia, and Florida. Their language, Mvskoke, is a member of the Muscogee branch of the Muscogean language family.

They were descendants of the Mississippian culture peoples, who built earthwork mounds at their regional chiefdoms located throughout the Mississippi River valley and its tributaries. The historian Walter Williams and others believe the early Spanish explorers encountered ancestors of the Muscogee when they visited Mississippian-culture chiefdoms in the Southeast in the mid-16th century.[4]

The Muscogee were the first Native Americans to be "civilized" under George Washington's civilization plan. In the 19th century, the Muscogee were known as one of the "Five Civilized Tribes", because they had integrated numerous cultural and technological practices of their more recent European American neighbors. In 1811, the Shawnee leader Tecumseh, with the help of a prophetic comet and earthquake, convinced the Muscogee to resist the efforts of civilization. The Red Stick War, begun as a civil war within the Muscogee Nation, enmeshed them in the War of 1812.

During the Indian Removal of 1830, most of the Muscogee Nation moved to Indian Territory. The Muscogee Creek Nation based in Oklahoma is federally recognized, as is the Poarch Band of Creek Indians of Alabama. Creek tribe communities also have formed in Louisiana and Texas.

Leo Pergson Su-Quah-Natch-Ah Band Choctaw Nation Mississippi.